Doing It My Weigh

Sometimes we need to eat healthier. Sometimes we need to indulge.

Turkey Meatballs

on February 24, 2013
I brought this to work for dinner.

I brought this to work for dinner.

Ok. Ground turkey? I don’t think I had ever bought it until I decided to try this recipe. Result: pleasantly surprised and have another package in the fridge to make in the next couple of days.

They have enough flavor,  a good consistency and easily replaced traditional meatballs for me.

I found the original recipe here: Low Calorie Meatball Sandwich Recipe .

I originally planned to make it just like that. But once I made the meatballs, I didn’t want to ‘spend’ the extra points on the bread and cheese.

 

 

Ingredients (slightly changed to make just meatballs versus sandwich): 

– 1 lb extra lean ground turkey
– 1/2 cup whole wheat bread crumbs
– 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
– 1/2 cup liquid egg substitute
– 2 cloves of garlic, finely minced
– 1 tbsp dried oregano
– 1/2 tbsp dried basil
– 1 tbsp fresh chopped parsley
– 1 tbsp granulated onion powder
–  salt to taste

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray one large baking sheet with non-stick spray.

In a large bowl, combine turkey, bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, egg, oregano, parsley, basil, garlic and salt. Scoop out turkey mixture and gently shape a small meatball and place on the  baking sheet; repeat with remaining ingredients to make 32 meatballs. Bake about 10 to 15 minutes. Make sure to shake the pans every 5 min to promote even browning of the meatballs. NOTE: I actually measured my meatballs as I made them. I believe they were each around 35 grams.

For the ‘sauce’ I just threw a can of diced tomatoes into my pink mini Cuisinart, pureed, warmed and poured a bit over the meatballs before serving. Served them with Baked Spaghetti Squash and some broccoli.

Points Plus Breakdown:
Meatballs are 1PP a piece
Baked Spaghetti squash is 5PP for 1 cup NOTE: a half a cup seems to be adequate. It doesn’t sound like much but try and you will see what I mean.
Broccoli is free
Sauce is free

So, for my whole meal…about 8PP for 5 meatballs and 1/2 cup squash plus the freebies.

One response to “Turkey Meatballs

  1. […] Turkey Meatballs (jillianinprogress.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

